Ref’s Incidents

At St Mary’s – Goalkeeper handling a ball outside his penalty area is not always a DOGSO

West Ham goalkeeper Adrian’s red card against Southampton has been overturned by the Football Association and he can play against West Brom in the FA Cup.

However, his club has been charged with failing to control their players after the incident during their goalless draw at St Mary’s Stadium on Wednesday.

Adrian, 28, was sent off after he handled the ball outside the penalty area as he challenged Sadio Mane.

But the FA have said Adrian had not denied a goalscoring opportunity.

Referee Craig Pawson dismissed Adrian in the 61st minute of the Hammers’ Premier League game at Southampton and his team-mates reacted angrily to the decision.

Joe Hart has LOTG on his side after stupid goal kick

Referee Mike Dean denied QPR a goal in the match against Manchester City. But was he right to do so? Below the video you’ll find the answer plus an explanation based on the Laws of the Game.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpOVLJFEx98

The situation: Joe Hart takes a free kick inside his own box. He unfortunately touched the ball with his left foot before kicking it away with his right one. The ball was shot right at Austin. The QPR player did not hesitate, shoots on goal and scores.

But the referee did make the right call. So why has the referee made the right decision? Here are the rules that explain it.

With a normal free kick “the kicker must not touch the ball again until it has touched another player”. But was the ball already in play when Hart touched the ball for the second time? The answer is NO. The Laws of the Game say that the ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty area – in this case the ball wasn’t. That’s not just for goal kicks, also for direct or indirect free kicks in the penalty area of the defending team. And if the ball is not kicked directly out of the penalty area, the kick must be retaken.

Philip Neville in Match of the Day. “That’s a brilliant decision”, he said, although he admitted he didn’t know that at the moment it happened. “I thought it was a free kick for QPR, but Mike Dean got is spot on. A great decision.

After the match Joe Hart explains ‘two kick’ rule to Charlie Austin on the pitch after QPR v Man City.

Assistant referee decisions in the penalty area

Check the following situation in the match between Borussia Mönchengladbach (Germany) and Villarreal (Spain) at the end of the video. The video quality is not good, but you’ll get a better idea of the situation. A striker tries to reach a teammate in front of the goal, but the ball got blocked by a defender. The ball goes in the air and a defender in his own penalty area tries to control the ball with his foot. He misses the ball and the ball bounces via the ground on his hand. The assistant referee raises his flag, but the referee disagrees with him and let play go on.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGhYy9SnznE

The Laws of the Game say: “Two assistant referees may be appointed whose duties, subject to the decision
of the referee, are to indicate: (…) when offences have been committed whenever the assistant referees
have a better view than the referee (this includes, in certain circumstances, offences committed in the penalty area).”

But is it smart to raise a flag for a penalty call? KNVB, the Dutch football organisation, had given a technical guideline for assistant referee decisions in the penalty area. Some tips for AR’s are:

  • intervention by the assistant referee should only happen under special circumstances and if the referee stands at a great distance, in the wrong position or asks explicitly the advice of the assistant referee
  • if the offence is inside the penalty area, proceed to the corner flag, simultaneously beeping and communicate with headset. DO NOT USE THE FLAG. Give the advice “penalty” via the headset and repeat as needed.

In amateur football football you don’t have a headset probably, but you can make good arrangements with your assistant referee. If he follows the guidelines and proceeds to the backline although the ball or players are not, you should notice he’s giving a signal to you. Try to get eye contact with your assistant and then make your decision.

The referee's view of the "handball" situation.In this situation, the assistant referee can see the hand of the defender who might have touched the ball with the hand. The referee can not see that clear, but he has a good view of the situation and can see that the player tries to control the ball with his foot first and that it bounces on the player’s arm then.

Case study: spiderman mask to celebrate a goal

Aubameyang: Spiderman mask to celebrate a goal.

A new case study from the German Super Cup between Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich. After Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang scored the 2-0 for Dortmund he reaches behind is sock to get a Spiderman mask. He was not cautioned by referee Peter Gagelman for this unique way to celebrate a goal. But was the referee correct?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0x0LBorxyVA

The Laws of the Game are clear on this. “While it is permissible for a player to demonstrate his joy when a goal has been scored, the celebration must not be excessive. A player must be cautioned if: he covers his head or face with a mask or other similar item.”

So you should book a player who puts on a Spiderman mask to celebrate a goal.

Did this happen before? Yes, Neymar got his second yellow card for celebrating his goal with a mask on his head. The referee of the Santos match against Colo Colo was right.

As you can see in the video: referee Velasco Carballo initially raises his hand to give an indirect free kick after an offside signal by his assistant referee. But then something triggers him to go to his assistant referee and discuss the whole situation. Yes, the assistant referee was correct that the player was in offside position when the ball was played. But how did play continue? Below you’ll see a good case study of the offside rule changes as introduces during the 2013/2014 season.

Offside rule: Levante attacker Ángel is in offside position at the moment the ball is passed.

The long ball is reaching a Valencia defender who sees the ball coming. He waits for it and tries to pass the ball forward with his head. The picture below shows that the attacker who was in offside position is not interfering with play at this moment. The Laws of the Game say that “interfering with play” means

  • playing or touching the ball passed or touched by a team-mate.
  • OR: preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent’s line of vision or movement or challenging an opponent for the ball.

The Levante attacker is completely out of the picture below, which means that he’s definitely not challenging the defender. The ball came through the air, so he’s also not blocking the defender’s view.

Offside rule: deliberate pass or not?

But the header from the defender fails completely, the ball moves backwards towards his own goalie. In just a few seconds the Levante attacker, who was in offside position, reacts and reaches the ball very fast, runs to the goal and scores. There was some chaos with protesting players, the referee and his assistant discussing the situation. Because the question now is: was Levante attacker Ángel gaining advantage of his offside position?

A Spanish refereee blog immediately tweeted: “Perfect teamwork. Levante’s goal is legal. The defender plays the ball deliberately.”